Gubernatorial candidate Lindy Blanchard slammed incumbent Gov. Kay Ivey (R) for eight appointments of Democrats to fill judicial vacancies.

“Judicial appointments matter. President Trump understood that. Governor Ivey? Not so much,” Blanchard said. “Kay Ivey has appointed eight liberal judges to fill judicial vacancies across Alabama during her time as governor.”

Blanchard listed:

  1. Anne Lamkin Durward, appointed June 5, 2020; Alabama's 10th Judicial Circuit

  2. James "Jim" Naftel  II, appointed June 30, 2020; Place 1 of the Jefferson County Probate Court

  3. J.C. Love, III, appointed November 15, 2019; Probate Court Judge for Montgomery Court

  4. Martha R. Cook, appointed April 1, 2019; Place 1 of Jefferson County District Court

  5. Monet E. Gaines, appointed November 2018; Alabama's 15th Judicial Circuit

  6. Holbrook E. Reid, appointed May 16, 2019; Alabama's 15th Judicial Circuit

  7. Shanta' C. Owens, appointed January 2019; Alabama's 10th Judicial Circuit Place 2

  8. Clinton H. Hyde, appointed January 23, 2020; Alabama's 25th Judicial Circuit 

“As a so-called Republican governor, Kay Ivey should've appointed conservative judges to fill these vacancies,” Blanchard said. “I know how important it is to uphold our conservative values, and when I'm governor, I will do just that.”

Blanchard is challenging Ivey in the Republican primary.

Ivey was elevated to governor in 2017 when then Gov. Robert Bentley (R) resigned. Ivey was elected to her own term in 2018. Ivey has also served two terms as lieutenant governor and two terms as state treasurer. 

Blanchard has never held an elected office before.

There are a total of nine candidates running in the Republican gubernatorial primary: Blanchard, Lew Burdette, Stacy George, Ivey, Tim James, Donald Trent Jones, Dean Odle, Dave Thomas, and Dean Young.

Yolanda Rochelle Flowers, Patricia Salter Jamieson, Arthur Kennedy, Chad “Chig” Martin, Malika Sanders Fortier and Doug “New Blue” Smith are all running for the Democratic nomination in the primary.

Both primaries are on May 24.

The winner of the Republican primary will face the winner of the Democratic primary in the general election on Nov. 8.

To connect with the author of this story, or to comment, email

Don’t miss out! Subscribe to our newsletter and get our top stories every weekday morning.