House Speaker-designate Nathaniel Ledbetter (R-Rainsville) announced more committee appointments to come with the pending election to the Alabama House of Representatives speakership next month.

Some of the latest chairman selections would mean a change in committee leadership, but some would remain the same.

Ledbetter emphasized the importance of chairmanships because these individuals would impact all citizens.

"From rural to urban areas, from employers to employees, and from tradesmen to consumers, the collective decisions made by these committees affect every Alabamian in some manner," Ledbetter said. "All of these individuals have my full faith and confidence, and I am certain they will always work on behalf of the citizens each of us seek to serve."

The latest announcement included:

State Rep. Randall Shedd (R-Fairview) to chair the Transportation, Utilities, and Infrastructure Committee.

Shedd has been a representative since 2013 and has chaired the House Urban and Rural Development Committee. Shedd has also served as vice chair of the House Children and Senior Advocacy Committee. He was previously the mayor of Fairview, the director of the Cullman County Commission on Aging and the chairman of the Cullman County Commission.

State Rep. Jim Carns (R-Vestavia Hills) to chair the Commerce and Small Business Committee.

Carns is a well-known businessman and former Jefferson County Commissioner. He currently chairs the House Commerce and Small Business Committee, of which Ledbetter is a member.

State Rep. Margie Wilcox (R-Mobile) to chair the Boards, Agencies and Commissions Committee.

Wilcox, who currently chairs the Alabama Legislature's Joint Transportation Committee and the Joint License Plate Oversight Committee, has been a member of the House since 2014. During that time, she served on the Boards, Agencies and Commissions Committee. She is a businesswoman from Mobile and has previously served as vice chair of the House County and Municipal Government Committee.

SEE ALSO: House Speaker-designate Ledbetter announces picks for House committee chairmanships

State Rep. Danny Crawford (R-Athens) to chair the Agriculture and Forestry Committee.

Crawford would continue his current assignment as the Agriculture and Forestry Committee chair. He worked with the Farm Service Agency for 33 years and was appointed in 2001 as the state director by then-President George W. Bush.

State Rep. Reed Ingram (R-Montgomery) to chair the County and Municipal Government Committee.

Ingram has been in the House since 2014 and the chair of the County and Municipal Government Committee since 2018. The well-known businessman from Montgomery previously served on the Montgomery County Commission from 2004 to 2014.

The GOP Speaker will be decided during an organizational meeting of the Republican Caucus in January. Ledbetter's election is highly likely.

To connect with the author of this story, or to comment, email

Don't miss out! Subscribe to our newsletter and get our top stories every weekday morning.