In retaliation for various sanctions, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation released a list of 500 Americans now banned from the country, including U.S. Sen. Katie Britt (R-Montgomery) and U.S. Rep. Dale Strong (R-Huntsville).

"It is high time for Washington to learn that no hostile attack on Russia will go unpunished," read a translated press release on the Ministry's website. "The principle of the inevitability of punishment will be consistently applied, whether we are talking about tougher sanctions pressure or discriminatory steps to hinder the professional activities of our fellow citizens."

Britt was unphased by Russia's attempt to punish her.

"It was just announced that Putin has banned me from Russia," she tweeted. "I'd say bless his heart, but he doesn't have one."

Upset over the U.S. denying visas for Russian journalists from the pool of the Minister of Foreign Affairs Sergey Lavrov, Russia also rejected a request by the U.S. Embassy in Moscow to visit imprisoned American reporter Evan Gershkovich.

The Ministry said the list also included "those in government and law enforcement agencies who are directly involved in the persecution of dissidents in the wake of the so-called Storming the Capitol."

In 2022, Russia banned six of Alabama's legislative delegation: Rep. Robert Aderholt (R-Hayleville), former Rep. Mo Brooks, Rep. Jerry Carl (R-Mobile), Rep. Barry Moore (R-Enterprise), Rep. Gary Palmer (R-Hoover) and Rep. Terri Sewell (D-Birmingham).

To connect with the author of this story or to comment, email

Don't miss out! Subscribe to our newsletter and get our top stories every weekday morning.