UAB placed five players on the All-Conference USA team, and 15 more Blazers were either recognized on the second team or honorable mentions.

Running back DeWayne McBride, the nation's leading rusher, was joined on the first team by offensive tackles Kadeem Telfort and Sidney Wells, linebacker Noah Wilder and cornerback Starling Thomas.

The first team also includes former Hoover High running back Larry McCammon of FAU.

Second-team UAB honorees were offensive lineman Will Rykard and Quincy McGee, running back Jermaine Brown Jr., defensive tackle Fish McWilliams and safety Grayson Cash.

First team

QB: Frank Harris, UTSA
RB: DeWayne McBride, UAB
RB: Larry McCammon III, Florida Atlantic
WR: Zakhari Franklin, UTSA
WR: Malachi Corley, WKU
WR: Tre Harris, LA Tech
TE: Var'Keyes Gumms, North Texas
OL: Ahofitu Maka, UTSA
OL: Manase Mose, North Texas
OL: Jeremiah Byers, UTEP
OL: Sidney Wells, UAB
OL: Kadeem Telfort, UAB
DE: Jadrian Taylor, UTEP
DT: Brandon Brown, UTSA
DT: Keivie Rose, LA Tech
DE: Jordan Ferguson, Middle Tennessee
LB: KD Davis, North Texas
LB: Noah Wilder, UAB
LB: JaQues Evans, WKU
DB: Clifford Chattman, UTSA
DB: Corey Mayfield Jr., UTSA
DB: Ridge Texada, North Texas
DB: Starling Thomas V, UAB
K: Gavin Baechle, UTEP
P: Kyle Ulbrich, Middle Tennessee
LS: Brody Butler, Middle Tennessee
KR: Kaylon Horton, North Texas
PR: Smoke Harris, LA Tech
Second Team
QB: Austin Reed, WKU
RB: Jermaine Brown Jr., UAB
RB: Deion Hankins, UTEP
WR: De'Corian Clark, UTSA
WR: Joshua Cephus, UTSA
WR: Grant DuBose, Charlotte
TE: Joshua Simon, WKU
OL: Will Rykard, UAB
OL: Shea Baker, Rice
OL: Brendan Bordner, Florida Atlantic
OL: Gunner Britton, WKU
OL: Quincy McGee, UAB
DE: Praise Amaewhule, UTEP
DT: Evan Anderson, Florida Atlantic
DT: Fish McWilliams, UAB
DE: Amir Siddiq, Charlotte
LB: Mazin Richards, North Texas
LB: Jamal Ligon, UTSA
LB: Tyrice Knight, UTEP
DB: Teldrick Ross, Middle Tennessee
DB: Grayson Cash, UAB
DB: Kahlef Hailassie, WKU
DB: Myles Brooks, LA Tech
K: Jared Sackett, UTSA
P: Lucas Dean, UTSA
LS: Angelo Tejada, UTEP
KR: Smoke Harris, LA Tech
PR: Jaylin Lane, Middle Tennessee
Honorable Mention includes:
WR: Trea Shropshire, UAB
WR: Tejhaun Palmer, UAB
OL: Matthew Trehern, UAB
DE: Drew Tuazama, UAB
DT: Isaiah Forte, UAB
LB: Tyler Taylor, UAB
DB: Jaylen Key, UAB
DB: Keondre Swoopes, UAB
P: Kyle Greenwell, UAB
LS: Cole Kizziah, UAB
KR: Jermaine Brown Jr., UAB

To connect with the author of this story, or to comment, email

Don't miss out! Subscribe to our newsletter and get our top stories every weekday morning.