UAB running back DeWayne McBride was selected as the Conference USA Offensive Player of the year.

McBride, a 5-foot-11, 215-pound junior, is only the second football player in UAB history to be selected for any of the C-USA player of the year awards. The other was Joe Webb, who was the offensive player of the year in 2009.

UTSA quarterback Frank Harris is the C-USA Player of the Year. Other players honored were North Texas linebacker KD Davis (defense), UTEP kicker Gavin Baechle (special teams), UTSA running back Kevorian Barnes (freshman of the year) and WKU quarterback Austin Reed (newcomer of the year).

McBride finished the regular season as the national leader in rushing yards (1,713), rushing yards per game (155.7) and carries of 20+ yards (23). He is second in rushing touchdowns (19) and 100-yards games (10). He’s third in yards per carry (7.35) and scoring (10.4 points per game).

McBride set around 10 school records, including the single-game rushing record, when he rushed for 272 yards on 16 carries in the regular season finale win at Louisiana Tech.

In 30 career games, McBride has 3,523 yards, 36 touchdowns and 18 100-yard games.

UAB closes the season on December 16 against Miami of Ohio in the Bahamas Bowl. It’s unknown whether McBride will play in that game, but he is practicing with the team.

To connect with the author of this story, or to comment, email

Don't miss out! Subscribe to our newsletter and get our top stories every weekday morning.