Voters in central Alabama participated in two special primary elections for the Alabama State House on Tuesday, resulting in runoffs slated for October.

According to reports, candidates Brad Cox and Bryan Brinyark will participate in a special runoff election to fill the vacant House District 16 seat, which encompasses Fayette County and part of Tuscaloosa County. 

Former State Rep. Kyle South (R-Fayette) occupied the District 16 seat before resigning to become president and CEO of the Chamber of Commerce of West Alabama earlier this year.

Republican candidates Mike Simpson, Floyd Rodgers, Jr., Greg Fanin and Greg Lowery failed to make the cut for the runoff. 

Cox won 32.96% of the vote, whereas Brinyark won 32.56%. None of the other candidates exceeded 19%. The winner of the Republican primary runoff election on October 24 will face Democratic nominee John Underwood in the special general election in January 2024.

In Birmingham, Democratic voters also failed to select a single nominee. Candidates Travis Hendrix, who won 27.91% of the vote, and Sylvia Swayne, who won 21.45% of the vote, will also run in a special runoff election on October 24.

Phyllis Oden-Jones, Cara McClure, Ves Marable, Kenneth Coachman and Antwon Womack failed to receive enough votes to qualify for the runoff.

District 55 includes downtown Birmingham and other suburbs just east of Birmingham, such as Fairfield. 

Since no Republican is running for the District 55 seat, the runoff winner will likely replace former State Rep. Fred Plump, Jr. (D-Fairfield), who was charged with conspiracy and obstruction of justice in May.

To connect with the author of this story or to comment, email [email protected] or find him on Twitter and Facebook.

Don’t miss out! Subscribe to our newsletter and get our top stories every weekday morning.