For the first time in program history, the Auburn Tigers men's golf team has won the national championship.

The Tigers defeated the Florida State Seminoles 3-2 at the Omni La Costa Champions Course in Carlsbad, California.

"I've got a great group of young men. We've got six of the best players in the country," Auburn head coach Nick Clinard said. "We've got great leadership with Alex Vogelsong. They went out there today and got the job done."

Florida State got off to a 2-0 start when redshirt senior Cole Anderson beat Auburn redshirt junior Carson Bacha and freshman Tyler Weaver beat Auburn freshman Josiah Gilbert.

It was all Auburn the rest of the way.

Auburn freshman, Ben Hogan and Fred Haskins award winner, Jackson Koivun beat Florida State senior Brett Roberts 5&4.

"I was just happy to be part of it," said Koivun, holding his championship trophy. "I was just trying to make up and down and was lucky enough to hit the flag and go in. It's been a whirlwind of emotions. There's a lot of awards I've collected but this one right here is definitely the biggest one."

Auburn junior Brendan Valdes beat Florida State senior Frederik Kjettrup 4&3.

"It means everything," Valdes said. "To get it for guys like J.M. and Vogey, it means the world to see the smile on their faces."

Auburn senior J.M. Butler parred the 17th hole to secure a 2-1 in his match against Florida State sophomore Luke Clanton and the match for the Tigers.

"Glad we could get it done," Butler said. "I knew we had it in us, all we had to do was go out there and do it and we did. My trust and my confidence were key in me winning today, combined with all the hours of hard work."

Auburn's historic season included a fifth SEC championship, an NCAA regional championship for the second year in a row and Koivun earning both of college golf's highest individual awards.

To connect with the author of this story or to comment, email

Don't miss out! Subscribe to our newsletter and get our top stories every weekday morning.