Representative Nathaniel Ledbetter (R-Rainsville) was elected Thursday as the new Speaker of the Alabama House of Representatives.

The vote took place at a Montgomery meeting of the Alabama House Republican Caucus.

Ledbetter is replacing Speaker Mac McCutcheon, who has occupied the position since 2016.

Ledbetter received the majority vote over his competition, Rep. Steve Clouse (R-Ozark)

While the Speaker’s position must be selected by House members of both parties, the Republican supermajority makes Thursday’s decision a relative certainty.

Ledbetter has been in the House as the representative for District 24 since November of 2014 and has served as the House Majority Leader since 2017.

Ledbetter lost a House race in 2010 as a Democrat but won the subsequent election after switching parties much like his predecessor.

Ledbetter sponsored the controversial bill in the last legislative session, which required all public schools to employ mental health coordinators.

The Speaker’s position was up for grabs after McCutcheon announced he would not be seeking reelection. His seat was won by fellow Republican Phillip Rigsby on Tuesday.

McCutcheon took the position after the previous Speaker, Mike Hubbard, was removed from office and convicted on several ethics violations.

To connect with the author of this story, or to comment, email

Don't miss out! Subscribe to our newsletter and get our top stories every weekday morning