The Alabama Department of Corrections (ADOC) is continuing its release of violent inmates after a 2021 law took effect on Tuesday.

During a special session in 2021, the Alabama Legislature passed a bill retroactively applying a 2015 mandatory release law to all inmates before 2015. Based on the length of an inmate's sentence, the law releases inmates between three and 12 months from the end of their sentence. The retroactive application took effect on Tuesday.

According to a lawsuit filed by Attorney General Steve Marshall, the number of inmates scheduled for Tuesday's release was over 400.

Marshall's suit claims that ADOC failed to complete the required victim notification, despite having 18 months to do so.

Montgomery Circuit Judge Jimmy Pool dismissed the lawsuit. However, ADOC did cut back on the release of inmates until victims were properly notified.

According to a list obtained by, those convicted of sex crimes and murder were on the docket for early release, and some have convictions for both. The list only contains 369 of the names scheduled for release on Tuesday.

(See also: Prison release sponsor State Rep. Hill defends legislation — 'Better served from a standpoint of public safety')

At least 43 of the inmates scheduled for release were incarcerated for homicide, most of which were mainly murders with a handful of manslaughter convictions.

At least 23 inmates had convictions for rape, and five were convicted of attempted rape.

The 2021 law stated that inmates are not eligible for release if convicted of sexually abusing a child. However, several inmates listed were convicted for possessing "obscene material" of a minor, attempted solicitation of a minor, sending obscene material to minors, violating sex offender registries and other child-related charges.

The remainder of the list comprises various assaults, burglaries, kidnappings, attempted murders and drug charges.

Despite ADOC slowing down the release process, inmates are still getting released daily.

The retroactive portion of the mandatory release was passed just days after Sgt. Nick Risner, a Sheffield Police sergeant, was shot and killed by a recently released inmate.

Below is listed every lawmaker who voted yes on the 2021 bill to retroactively apply the mandatory release dates:


Greg Albritton (R-Atmore)
Will Barfoot (R-Pike Road)
William Beasley (D-Clayton)
Tom Butler (R-Madison)
Clyde Chambliss (R-Prattville)
Donnie Chesteen (R-Geneva)
Linda Coleman-Madison (D-Birmingham)
Sam Givhan (R-Huntsville)
Kirk Hatcher (D-Montgomery)
Jimmy Holley (R-Elba)
Andrew Jones (R-Centre)
Steve Livingston(R-Scottsboro)
Del Marsh (R-Anniston)
Jim McClendon (R-Springville)
Tim Melson (R-Florence)
Arthur Orr (R-Decatur)
Randy Price (R-Opelika)
Greg Reed (R-Jasper)
Malika Sanders-Fortier (D-Selma)
Clay Scofield (R-Guntersville)
Bobby Singleton (D-Greensboro)
Rodger Smitherman (D-Birmingham)
Jabo Waggoner (R-Vestavia Hills)
Tom Whatley (R-Auburn).


Louise Alexander (D-Bessemer)
Alan Baker (R-Brewton)
Mike Ball (R-Madison)
Chris Blackshear (R-Smiths Station)
Barbara Boyd (D-Anniston)
Napoleon Bracy (D-Mobile)
Chip Brown (R-Hollingers Island)
K.L. Brown (R-Jacksonville)
Prince Chestnut (D-Selma)
Adine Clarke (D-Mobile)
Steve Clouse (R-Ozark)
Merika Coleman (D-Pleasant Grove)
Terri Collins (R-Decatur)
Danny Crawford (R-Athens)
Anthony Daniels (D-Tuscaloosa)
Dickie Drake (R-Leeds)
Barbara Drummond (D-Mobile)
Brett Easterbrook (R-Fruitdale)
Corley Ellis (R-Columbiana)
Chris England (D-Tuscaloosa)
Allen Farley (R-McCalla)
Joe Faust (R-Fairhope)
Bob Fincher (R-Woodland)
Berry Forte (D-Eufaula)
Danny Garrett (R-Trussville)
Victor Gaston (R-Mobile)
Juandalynn Givan (D-Birmingham)
Jeremy Gray (D-Opelika)
Lynn Greer (R-Rogersville)
Dexter Grimsley (D-Newsville)
Laura Hall (D-Huntsville)
Kenyate Hassel (D-Montgomery)
Jim Hill (R-Moody)
Rolanda Hollis (D-Birmingham)
Ralph Howard (D-Greensboro)
Steve Hurst (R-Munford)
Reed Ingram (R-Pike Road)
Gil Isbell (R- Gadsden)
Thomas Jackson (D-Thomasville)
Mike Jones (R-Andalusia)
Sam Jones (D-Mobile)
Kelvin Lawrence (D-Hayneville)
Nathaniel Ledbetter (R-Rainsville)
Paul Lee (R-Dothan)
Joe Lovvorn (R-Auburn)
Rhett Marques (R-Enterprise)
A.J. McCampbell (D-Demopolis)
Mac McCutcheon (R-Monrovia)
Steve McMillan (R-Bay Minette)
Charlotte Meadows (R-Montgomery)
Parker Moore (R-Hartselle)
Mary Moore (D-Birmingham)
TaShina Morris (D-Montgomery)
Becky Nordgren (R-Gadsden)
Ed Oliver (R-Dadeville)
Kenneth Paschal (R-Pelham)
Chris Pringle (R-Mobile)
Neil Rafferty (D-Birmingham)
Rex Reynolds (R-Huntsville)
Ben Robbins (R-Sylacauga)
Proncey Robertson (R-Mt. Hope)
John Rogers (D-Birmingham)
Rod Scott (D-Fairfield)
Ginny Shaver (R-Leesburg)
Randall Shedd (R-Baileytown)
Harry Shiver (R-Stockton)
Matt Simpson (R-Daphne)
Ivan Smith (R-Prattville)
Andrew Sorrell (R-Muscle Shoals)
Jeff Sorrels (R-Hartford)
Shane Stringer (R-Citronelle)
Tim Wadsworth (R-Arley)
Pebblin Warren (D-Tuskegee)
Andy Whitt (R-Huntsville)
Margie Wilcox (R-Mobile)
Rich Wingo (R-Tuscaloosa)
Debbie Wood (R-Valley)

Editor's note: Phillip Rigsby and Chad Robertson were included in the story as having voted for the legislation. Rigsby and Robertson were not members of the legislature at the time. We regret the error.

To connect with the author of this story, or to comment, email

Don't miss out! Subscribe to our newsletter and get our top stories every weekday morning.