The Republican Caucus of the Alabama House of Representatives has selected Rep. Scott Stadthagen (R-Hartselle) as the next Leader of the Caucus and Chris Pringle (R-Mobile) as the House President Pro Tempore.

The vote took place at a Thursday Montgomery meeting of the Alabama House Republican Caucus.

Stadthagen, who just won his first-ever reelection campaign on Tuesday, took the reins from Rep. Nathaniel Ledbetter (R-Rainsville), who was chosen by the caucus to serve as the next Speaker of the House.

See Also: Nathaniel Ledbetter to serve as Alabama's next Speaker of the House

Stadthagen was prominent in the 2022 legislative session, sponsoring the constitutional carry bill and the “transgender bathroom bill.”

The former allowed eligible citizens in Alabama to carry a concealed weapon about their person without having to procure a permit and will go into effect on Jan. 1, 2023. The latter required students of public schools in the state to use the restrooms and changing facilities that correspond to their biological sex and not their perceived gender identity.

Pringle, who took office in 2014, having previously served District 101 from 1994 until 2002, is the Chair of the State Government Committee in the House. He has sponsored several bills and has campaigned for increasing minimum sentencing for people convicted of trafficking fentanyl.

While House members of both parties must select the Speaker’s position, the Republican supermajority makes Thursday’s decision a relative certainty.

To connect with the author of this story, or to comment, email

Don't miss out! Subscribe to our newsletter and get our top stories every weekday morning.