The National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund (NRA-PVF) announced its endorsement of Gov. Kay Ivey (R) for reelection. The announcement was made Monday at an event at a shooting range near Millbrook.

"Kay Ivey has long demonstrated an unwavering support for our Second Amendment freedoms," said Jason Ouimet, chairman, NRA-PVF. “She is the strongest candidate in this race and has a proven record of defending our constitutional right to self-defense."

Ivey recently signed both permitless carry legislation as well as the Second Amendment Protection Act barring state and local personnel and resources from assisting federal authorities in enforcing any executive orders by this President or future presidents that infringe on Alabamians’ Second Amendment rights.

Representatives of the NRA-PVF said that as governor, and previously as lieutenant governor, Ivey generated an unvarnished pro-Second Amendment record.

“Today, in states across the country, the right to keep and bear arms is under attack," Ivey said. "Blue state liberals, the mainstream media and Hollywood would love nothing more than to see an America without guns. Well, if they got their way, that country wouldn’t be ‘America’ at all. Here in Alabama, we don’t rely on the permission of gun-control-loving liberals to exercise our God-given constitutional rights. We demand them, and no one will ever take them away. I know they won’t be taking my Smith and Wesson. In Alabama, ‘we dare defend our rights’ isn’t just a motto – it’s a way of life. I will always defend the right to keep and bear arms.”

Ivey has earned an "A" rating from the NRA. This grade is reserved for candidates with an excellent record on critical Second Amendment issues. In addition to constitutional carry, Ivey has also opposed gun control efforts such as banning commonly owned firearms and magazines while supporting a strengthening of Alabama’s preemption statute. ​​

Lindy Blanchard, Lew Burdette, Stacy Lee George, Kay Ivey, Tim James, Donald Trent Jones, Dean Odle, Dave Thomas, and Dean Young are all running in the Republican primary for governor on May 24.

To connect with the author of this story, or to comment, email